Posted by: aburne | December 14, 2008

Back in Brasov


After spending a few days in the UK visiting my parents, I arrived back in Brasov last night. It was good feeling leaving the UK knowing I was coming home to my family and even better being greeted at the airport by Lacra and Robbie.

The plane back was full of Romanians coming home to spend Christmas with their families with a party like atmosphere on the plane. The chap sitting next to me was going to Moldova and worked in North London as a driver. My Romanian was actually better than his English and I had to chuckle to myself as I could imagine him trying to ask directions in London when he got lost.

The weather in Romania was so horrible yesterday a howling wind and a cold rain, but the closer we got to Brasov the rain was turning into snow, by the time we reached Predeal it there was quite a bit of snow on the ground and the mountains and the forests gave that Christmas feeling all covered with snow.

This morning it was the christmas party for Impact the church youth group. For a competition we split into teams and had to take photos of specific items with the winning team taking the most photos. Brasov, this morning, had the pleasure of about 40 kids running wild in the centre centre taking hundreds of photo’s much to the bemusement of onlookers, dogs and shopkeepers.

Afterwards we went back to the centre for a christmas dinner of Sarmalute, which is a traditional Romanian meal of minced meat rolled in cabbage leaves.

Tomorrow we have the Christmas party for the Stupini Kids, so I really looking forward towards this.


Leave a comment

Categories