Posted by: aburne | October 28, 2012

Are Romanians Getting Ripped Off?


In the last couple of weeks I have been comparing prices of 2 specific items to work out if they would be cheaper to buy in the UK or Romania and the results shocked me.

1. Mobile phones

As I travel back to the UK a lot with my work it is cheaper for me to have a contract phone in the UK. This summer my 2 year contract expired so wanted to try and get the most modern phone I could afford seeing I would be stuck with it for another 2 years.

The phone I got was the Samsung SIII one the latest market leading phones out there.  It costs me £30 a month which was more expensive than my previous phone. But this deal meant I got the phone FREE and I could use it as my modem when I’m in the UK. Fantastic deal!!!

As I loved the SIII so much in what it can do. I had a brainwave….. why not get my wife one back in Romania. What great idea. So I looked at the deals….. and in Romania it was a different story. Here the best deal possible Yes the best deal possible was if I paid 45 euros per month….. they would let me have the phone for 200 euros. No way!! So my wife didn’t get the SIII and thankfully she doesn’t read this blog 🙂

2. Tablet Computers

I have always wanted an Ipad but don’t have that type of dosh but even if I had I probably wouldn’t pay that amount for something with such a small spec.

So my attention turned to the Android tabs, the one which got my attention was the Nexus 7.

I did a quick search on the net. On PC world in the UK the 16gb is selling for £169.00 guess not to bad compared to Ipad so I then checked the well known emag website in Romania and the same one is selling for 1199 lei which works out at about £212 which is a whacking £43 difference compared to the UK.

So if I buy it I guess I wont be buying it from Romania!!!

So my conclusion is that Romanians are getting ripped off!!!

So what do you think as a reader ?


Responses

  1. Yes they are!! Quality of computers are better and cheap in Germany and France. Good blog


Leave a comment

Categories